Aramide sits with Pulse to talk about her “Suitcase” debut album release.

The singer talks growing as an artist, why she named her album “Suitcase.”

She explained she wanted something that people could remember and relate to, and  also since she was embarking on a music journey up to the point of releasing an album, “Suitcase” stuck.

I started to feel I could select songs, put in my suitcase and when people buy the album, it’s like they are unveiling the suitcase, so for me it made sense,” she explained.

On winning Best Female West Africa at the AFRIMA 2016, she thinks part of the problem lies in her not being labelled as a pop artist.

The ‘Iwo nikan’ singer admits she was shocked as well and has respect for every nominee on the list and even looks up to some of them but she works as hard as the other nominees  and feels she equally deserves the recognition.

People tend to compare successes and tend to compare popularity, For some people I am popular enough to win the award for others I am not as popular enough, but personally I think I deserved it,” the singer remarked.

